cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

19 hard inquires to buy 1 car

tag
roseann0617

19 hard inquires to buy 1 car

In Sept. I was the primary on a car loan I co-signed with my daughter. I have been repairing my credit for the last 4 years and watching my score intensly.
When I applied for this loan I was very straight forward with the car sales man and I told him that my score is sitting at a 681. I told him if he was going to run my credit 50 different ways I can not apply because I do not want to take the huge hit against the score I worked so hard to bring up.
He told me they only run it through 2-3 agencies and I should be fine. Today I have pulled my reports from all 3 agencies and I see that there were 19 unique hard inquiries all made on the day we bought the car.
Today my credit score is back down to a 628....I took a hit of 53 points! I am beyond mad.
I started receiving letters that typically come from the financial institutions with the reasons for my denials shortly after all of this but I received 4 letters max.....how come the others didn't sent me notifications? I didn't even know that it was this bad until I randomly went in to check my credit reports.

Do I have any legal recourse? Is there something I can do to get these inquires off my report?

I currently have no debt other than this newfound car loan. I have paid off ALL my past debts and WAS working on trying to get that score up to at least a 700.

It is so discouraging.....trying to repair your credit score.

Roseann

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: 19 hard inquires to buy 1 car

Where did you get your score from?   I'm betting it's a FAKO.   In FICO scoring they will batch so you won't take a hit for one loan.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge