Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30 day past due on trade-in

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

30 day past due on trade-in

I traded my car in toward a new car. When i signed the DMV paperwork thatb transfered ownership of my car the finance manager told me not to worry about making the payment that the car was no longer legally mine. I just looked at my credit report and my score has dropped almost 70 points. I had paid on the loan almost 5 years with 1 late payment the first year and now the final payment was 30 days late due to car dealership. What should i do now that this has wreaked my score that i have been working on for 3 years.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 30 day past due on trade-in

1- is there a balance still owing on the loan (ie late fees)

2- Who is to blame? Did the dealership not send a check in time, did you trade the car too soon for a payment to be made (ie were you already behind when the trade in happened,) did the dealership pay the wrong account, did the bank credit the wrong account. Did you give the dealership the worng payoff?  many times if yo are within a week of a payment you will still be expected to pay the next payment as there is most delerships take a few days to get  a check cut and issued. Overpayments when all said and done are then refunded to you from your bank once it is all paid off.

3-The bank would not have released the title until all fees were paid, so someone at the dealership may have had to cut another check to get the title so they could resell the car. Without the title your car is a depreciating hulk.

4- Someone at the dealership is aware of the issue, you need to ask questions. Call the finance guy.

5- Assuming the error was not yours, Once you figure out where the error was it should be simple to get them to help you clear your report.