cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone have experience with recent grad programs?

tag
FloridaState12
Established Contributor

Anyone have experience with recent grad programs?

Hey all...

Well I was originally going to try and get a car after a few months of working but I'm starting to get antsy and I REALLY want to dump my 1997 Exploder as soon as I can. Not only for functionality reasons, but social ones as well. I just got a very good job with a Fortune 500 company; as a young professional, I feel as if I don't look the part with my fossil of a car. Plus I think I'd be unfairly judged as well based on the vehicle I drive.

Anyway, I see Lexus has a recent grad program that gives you $1000 cash back and supposedly some deals on financing. It says you only have to have a job OFFER that starts within the next 120 days. I start this job mid-March, so well within the 120 days. It also requires no down payment and no payments for 90 days. I have my offer and everything in hand, already signed; my salary is $45,000/year and my credit is spotless, albeit I have some inquiries. 

So, basically, what are my chances? I just graduated last year, don't have any baddies, etc. so it appears as if I meet the criteria. A few recently opened accounts/inquiries worries me a bit, but at last check my TU FICO via Walmart was 750. 

I'm looking at financing a Lexus IS, either 250 or 350. I've looked at Edmunds and others and their market values are pretty low, below invoice in most cases. I suspect this is because the IS has not been redesigned in some time, and the fact that the new model is coming out this summer...all these lead me to believe I could get a nice deal on one. I think I'd get approved, but I also don't want to be crushed with APR. I'd like for my payment to be under $600, but I can go over if needed.

Thanks for your help!

Photobucket
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
BlueHusky
Contributor