cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying for auto loan and I want to be prepared!

tag
ejoshmo
Established Member

Applying for auto loan and I want to be prepared!

OK everyone, thanks in advance for any input and suggestions.  My wife and I are going to apply for a new or used car in August and I want to know our likelihood of being approved at what rates.  The reason we are getting a car is that my wife just graduated with her masters and landed a teaching position (i am still a grad student).  So we will now need two cars.  I will be as specific as possible with our info:

- TU credit scores: 635 (me)/ 610 (wife); checked EQ a couple months ago, was very close to TU score for both of us.

- The reason for our credit scores is mostly high utilization

- I have no lates in last 5 years, no collections (ever), no BK, abt 5k CC debt. (in both of our names)

- Wife has 1 late in last 4 years, no collections, no BK, and 4k additional in CC debt

- School loans are still in deferment

- total yearly income: 54K; we both work

- no rent (school pays)

- we have an auto loan (72 months) for over 3 years with no lates.

My specific questions to everyone are:

1.) approval chances?

2.) where should I apply?  From these boards I have heard Capital One likes to give out money, as well as CUs

3.) Any idea of a rate ballpark?

3.)Used or new? I want an A to B'er, not a BMW

4.) does it matter which one of us is cosigner?  my wife makes more but I have a slightly higher score...

I welcome hard evidence as well as opinions! Smiley Tongue

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Applying for auto loan and I want to be prepared!

@ejoshmo wrote: