cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto Loan Debt Protection Plan worth it?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto Loan Debt Protection Plan worth it?

Hi all,

I'm wondering what your thoughts are regarding Debt Protection Plans?

I have two auto loans that I opted in for the protection plan that covers death, disability and involuntary unemployment. It is an additional $50 and $30 for the loans. The reason I opted in is because I work in construction and I have injured myself before. 

My thoughts are in case something were to happen again, this plan would cover me for 6 months. On the other hand, is it worth the additional $80 a month? If injury occured I'll be compensated by Labor and Industries or unemployment benefits if it led to that. Downside, is that they would only give you benefits of 60% to 75% of pay. 

I've personally never opted in for protection plans. Your thoughts?

6 REPLIES 6
MAZDA3
Frequent Contributor

Re: Auto Loan Debt Protection Plan worth it?

Absolutely yes! I just bought a new car and added a payment protection plan. You just never know when you're going to need it. Mine is $1.70 per $1k financed and is good for the life of the loan, so if I'm out five years it pays off the car.

Yes, it's an added expense, but well worth the peace of mind.
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Insurance is always a gamble . . that the insurance companies usually win on

Example: $50/month x 60 month note = $3000

In the event you used six months of the coverage, it would cover a $500/month car payment for six months and you'd be at the break even point on it.

If you never end up needing it, you just paid $3k for nothing.

It's much better to have an emergency fund and just be able to cover the payments yourself should the need arise.

Message 3 of 7
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Agree with SteelerNYC.  It is better to put the funds in a savings account rather than spend them on a "Protection Plan".