cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brand new NFCU member, how should I go about an auto loan?

tag
Affalterbach
Established Member

Brand new NFCU member, how should I go about an auto loan?

I applied to NFCU thanks to my brother last night. They are saying 3-5 days to process the info to get my account going. Will I have to open a checking or savings account before I can explore a used car loan? Would having these accounts for just a few days before looking for an auto loan help? My Equifax score is a 767 currently according to myfico.com and that seems to be who they pull. My TU is a 749 according to my walmart card account. Not sure about EX but they all have the same info so I imagine its right in the ballpark with the others. 

I just want to know the best way to proceed since I am brand new to NFCU and would like a used car loan in the 20-25 grand ballpark from them. Any advice is appreciated. I know quite a few people here have had great success with NFCU and I look forward to building a long relationship with them. I'll be looking for a C.C. from them probably 6 months or so after my loan gets going. 

Started - Under 500's due to medical bills
Current - EQ MYFICO - 767, TU WalMart Fico - 779, EX Plus - 744 Credit Karma - 709
Goal - 800+ across the board
NFCU Cash Rewards $20,000Chase Freedom $2,000, Capital One Platinum $1,500, Walmart Store Card $3,600, AMEX Green Card.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Elcid89
Contributor

Re: Brand new NFCU member, how should I go about an auto loan?

@Affalterbach wrote: