cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Someone buy a car under my name without me being there?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can Someone buy a car under my name without me being there?

Hi guys! So I’m not gonna lie, I’m new to all this stuff so please hear/help me out.

This is going to be my first car purchase. I had around 5K saved and am looking to get a sub 15K car. At this point I have one of those fake 740ish credit scores (no real big purchases but 4 different credit cards) and I’m only 19. Nothing negative thus far, and I’ve been building since the day I was 18.

Now my problem at hand, I’m currently in training for the Army in Georgia but there just really aren’t any good deals here. I’m from Texas originally and see a few options but I just picked up additional schooling, so it won’t be months till I get a chance to go back home. I’ll be able to have a car and in a few weeks, and would found it much easier if I could have one around. At this point I’ve been pre approved from Cap1 @ 4.5% and will check the rate with Navy Fed before I actually buy.

So my question is, is there anyway my name can be on the car loan, but I get one of my parents or sibilings to go to the dealership and buy the car without me being there? Is there anything I can do to make them eligible to sign for me or something I can do to sign from a few states away? Will power of attorney do anything here?

I’ve thought about maybe co-signing, but my parents credit is trash and both my siblings just took out new car loans so I don’t know how that will hold over.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can Someone buy a car under my name without me being there?