Valued Member
DantGwyrdd

Can foreign nationals with F1 (student) visas get auto loans (on their own) in the US?

I've found out the hard (inquiry) way that F1 non-immigrant aliens pretty much cannot get personal loans from US banks (some banks would extend loans, but only with US resident co-signers; some WILL extend them to H-1Bs though, but that's pretty much it). On the other hand, I know for a fact that a lot of the banks (not all apparently), however, WILL extend revolving credit (major CCs, store cards) to F1 aliens without much difficulty (aside from them having to overcome the fact that they have no prior credit rating).

So, my question is the following: will banks extend auto loans to F1 aliens (with credit history, of course) on their own (i.e., without US resident co-signers)?

Established Member
emily504

Re: Can foreign nationals with F1 (student) visas get auto loans (on their own) in the US?

I was an F1 student 11 years ago when I apply auto loan. Took almost a week for dealer to find a local bank that willing to give me auto loan without co-sign at that time with the reason short credit life. I have a job at that time thouugh co-op (which is a full-time co-op). 

It was my first auto loan

Frequent Contributor
GrowingCredit

Re: Can foreign nationals with F1 (student) visas get auto loans (on their own) in the US?

DantGwyrdd wrote:

I've found out the hard (inquiry) way that F1 non-immigrant aliens pretty much cannot get personal loans from US banks (some banks would extend loans, but only with US resident co-signers; some WILL extend them to H-1Bs though, but that's pretty much it). On the other hand, I know for a fact that a lot of the banks (not all apparently), however, WILL extend revolving credit (major CCs, store cards) to F1 aliens without much difficulty (aside from them having to overcome the fact that they have no prior credit rating).