Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap One Auto.. 65%

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Cap One Auto.. 65%

Hi Everyone I'm a newbie. Smiley Wink  You guys are good so I thought I would throw this at ya....     Ok got a letter from Cap one auto Fi with an offer to settle my auto loan.  It says they will settle the debt for 65% of the full balance. The full balance is $7,700.  65% was like $5,000. Now, giving the car back is NOT an option since it's easily worth over $20,000 so that would be a mistake. I know I could sell it and just pay the balance in full and have money left over but I'm attached to it and don't want to! Plus its a rare vehicle that could go up in value later and might be hard to find another one like it in the future. 

The repo man has been randomly passing by, knocked on the door and peeked in my back yard once too. Luckily car is in the garage so he cant get in or even see it at all. Anyway I would like to get past this mess and get the title for this car before they somehow take it. It was a 60 month loan which I paid 47 months ($27,000 in payments ) until I lost my job!  So now the question.....  I'm getting $1,800 back from tax refund and can borrow $1500 from grand parents = $3,300. I might be able to come up with another $700 to make it $4,000. even.  Do you think they would settle for that???  I won't be able to come up with any extra $$ for a while and I'm tired of hiding like a criminal!     Thanks.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
mcnamara69

Re: Cap One Auto.. 65%

You have the settlement offer in writing to pay 5k instead of 7.7k.

From the cap one's perspective =>>>> Failed attempts repoing the car, possible solution? Lawsuit =>>>>> costs around $1000-1500 (probably) =>>>>> legal limbo.

Instead, offer $5005 and move on!