cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One- too good to be true?

tag
Kaycee213

Capital One- too good to be true?

This is my first time financing a car. As usually I just buy with cash outright. Capital One preapproved me for up to $18,303. Fine for me as i just need a car to get work. I found two types of cars I liked in their dealer eligible network. One is a little under $12k and the other is a little under $14k. I did fill out financing applications for both. I feel like the one dealership may be trying to push me into their financing. She emailed me a list of documents I needed to bring with me even though I told her I had a preapproval with Capital One already.

I did speak with Capital one and the rep really didn't answer my questions as to how much I need as a down payment and how much insurance coverage is required, etc. As I'd like to have quotes and be able to go and get what I need. I'm very skeptical now being as though the rep was unable to answer questions.

So, is my down payment based on what the dealership asks for or Capital One terms?

What level of insurance coverage do they require?

Capital one only required me to upload 2 recent pay stubs and my drivers license so I'd have them on hand at the dealership. Why is the dealership asking me to bring bank statements,  references, paystubs, blank check etc? If I say no, does that affect my Capital one finance certificate?

Could I possibly be denied once I'm at the dealership?

The rep made it seem all too easy. I wanna know what the catch is. Lol
Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
elim
Senior Contributor

Re: Capital One- too good to be true?

My GF was preapproved for Cap One last year and got a car.  No down payment was required.  She put some $ down anyway to lower her payments.