Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Co applicant or consigner

tag
ezef3ar
Contributor

Co applicant or consigner

Well I wanted to ask you guys a question so my dad it's gonna help me get a car but he's gonna be the consigner.....but he doesn't wanna be in the registration or title and honestly I rather have it in my own name now by been a consigner does he has to be on the registration and title.... Or not ?? I'm gonna be the person on the paperwork he just wanna cosing Smiley Happy. Please answer lol answer need it a soon as possible Smiley Happy
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
riverbluffer
Established Member

Re: Co applicant or consigner

Hello, I work in the car business and I can tell you that yes your dad will be on all of the paperwork, title included.  Anytime a second party signs up to be responsible for an installment contract secured by property, that second party will also be added to the title as co-owner.  The only way the avoid this is to either get a car loan yourself, or get this co-signed loan and then refinance later down the road in just your name.

Message 2 of 5
spudbro
Valued Member

@riverbluffer wrote:

Hello, I work in the car business and I can tell you that yes your dad will be on all of the paperwork, title included.  Anytime a second party signs up to be responsible for an installment contract secured by property, that second party will also be added to the title as co-owner.  The only way the avoid this is to either get a car loan yourself, or get this co-signed loan and then refinance later down the road in just your name.

This is not true. I just got an auto loan from a credit union in July where my friend had an account and great history. He co signed on the loan for me. He was not on the bill of sale, title, registration or insurance.

He had to sign some paperwork with the credit union stating he did not want to be listed but it was fairly simple.

Message 3 of 5
ezef3ar
Contributor