Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Financing an 18 year old vehicle

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Financing an 18 year old vehicle

I'm looking to pick up a project car but I want to use the purchase to add more activity and history to my credit repair process. I am looking to pick up a 1999 Mazda Miata with 95,000 miles in mint condition. I've got the dealer to a grand under book value at $4,500. However, I want to finance this and add some payment history to my credit. I've been repairing it since December of 2016. I currently have 657/666/650 scores. I have an existing auto loan with Santander with all payments on time for over 4 years. I have no collections (except one on Experian that should be coming off once my dispute is handled). My credit card balances are high but I am paying those off. I'm just not able to pay them off in full and getting a personal loan to pay them off is harder than getting an auto loan.

What I don't want to do is start fishing for a loan. So I'm wondering if anyone can recommend me a lender that they are fairly confident will finance an 18 year old vehicle with my credit situation? Obviously nobody knows for sure but I am just asking from experience and other peoples situations.

Some additional information: I make $83k/year and bring home about $2.7k/mo after taxes. I have about $1.8k/mo in monthly bills including rent, car, insurance, etc. Most banks and lenders won't go beyond 10 or 15 years old. I've heard PenFed will and the car falls within the mileage guidelines but I've also read some posts that they are sticklers. If I was able to, I'd rather take out a $20k personal loan and pay off my existing car loan, all my credit cards, and the new car all at once but I'm not able to find anyone who will give me that loan. Unsecured personal loans are harder to come buy than a $4.5k auto loan.

Thanks in advance!

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Financing an 18 year old vehicle