Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Financing through Nissan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Financing through Nissan

I'm interested in purchasing a 09 Nissan Versa, the one I'm looking at is about $16,500.  I'm looking to borrow about $15,000, and I have $2,000 saved for the down payment.  I was going to wait until the end of May where I'd have closer to $3,000, but Nissan is offering $1,750 cash back on this model in April.  (You have to finance through them to get the cashback).  I'm currently carpooling to work since December as my 1997 Saturn is dead.

My EQ Fico is 664.  I haven't check my TU score yet.  (I'm a lurking board newbie, so I'm trying to get the lingo down).  I work for a state government as an attorney.  My take home pay is about $3,000, I pay $361 a month (total) on two federal student loans and $160 on a Citi credit card (more than twice the minimum payment).  That's my only debt.  I've been in my job & apartment since Oct 07, graduated law school in May 07.  I've never bought a car before.  Am I going to be able to get a car loan with decent APR with Nissan?  Since I've never bought a car (or anything major), with current financial environment I'm a little nervous going in and applying for a car loan.

Also in checking myFico Score Watch (I signed up tonight), I notice that the bedroom suit that I paid off last month has not been reported to the credit bureau yet.  (Last report is showing February, I paid the balance off the first of March).  This will bring my revolving credit utilization down from 45% to like 25-26%.  How much should I expect my score to increase?  I also got a pre-approved line of credit increase today on my Citi card that bumped my debt use ratio on that single card from 75% to 62%.  Still bad I know.  This is the only CC I carry a balance on, and I'm working to pay it off.  Should the credit line increase bump my score any?