Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Car Buyer

tag
Schwartzinator
Frequent Contributor

First Time Car Buyer

I am a college student and have typically secured a great job on campus over the summer. That didn't happen. Instead, I've recieved a job offer that's off campus, but I don't have a car. My parents have a very old Accord 2002 or 2003? with 67k miles that they'd sell me for $3,000 if I wanted it. They even "prequalified" me for 0% financing for a year. Now, I could just pay them the $3,000 outright, but I am wondering if it would be better to get an installment loan reported on my credit profile?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First Time Car Buyer

Are you in California? I'll buy that Accord Smiley Very Happy

It's always preferred to always have at least 1 installment loan. They don't always have to be cars though. As my father's installment loan is financing of some new appliances.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Schwartzinator wrote:

I am a college student and have typically secured a great job on campus over the summer. That didn't happen. Instead, I've recieved a job offer that's off campus, but I don't have a car. My parents have a very old Accord 2002 or 2003? with 67k miles that they'd sell me for $3,000 if I wanted it. They even "prequalified" me for 0% financing for a year. Now, I could just pay them the $3,000 outright, but I am wondering if it would be better to get an installment loan reported on my credit profile?