Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Car Buyer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First Time Car Buyer

Hello!

Background: As you guys can tell im in the process of hopefully buying my "first" car by then end of this year. I say first in quotations because I already have a vehicle that I have 1 more month to pay off, and it's a Tote The Note with a lot of rip-offs and high interest rates of course. It's a Mitsubishi and I purchased it on a whim and was desperate to get one at the time. So me almost paying this car off will actually give me the chance I have been waiting for, in getting everything that I want and be worth it.

This is my first time being on myFico and I wanted to know do they give pretty accurate scores?? I have Credit Karma but they are always way off in someway. I have been working on my credit since I was 18 and I'm 21 now and I have made mistakes and have learned my lesson lol. I'm back on track now. I'm trying to qualify for a $20,000 auto loan with hopefully a low interest rate, at the most I can afford $400 monthly but would prefer of course lesser than that.

My question is,if anyone knows, what should my credit score be at or range of.For me to qualify for a $21,697 vehicle with an interest rate less than 8%. I'g going to put down $1,500 - $2,000 downpay and get a 60-month loan term too.

My scores right now are:

EQ:610

TU:622

EX:601

I'm still in the process of raising them.

Thank You!

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First Time Car Buyer

You need scores of at least 650 (and 670 would be better) across the board to get prime or near-prime rates on a new car. Slightly higher to get prime or near-prime on a used car. 

Work on the scores first. It will be worth it when you get the payoff in the form of a low interest rate on the car of your dreams. 

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable