cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First auto loan but I have low income

tag
creditgirl026

First auto loan but I have low income

I live near Chicago so I usually just take public transit; however, the transit system has taken a nosedive recently and I really really need a car now to commute to work and school.

I wanted to know what my chances of getting an auto loan for a new car.

equifax  score (via myfico): 755

rent: I moved back in with parent after I graduated from college, now in grad school. (will not paying rent hurt my chances)

income: gross 2240, net 1840 (which income do dealers look at)

down payment: 2k

car: $14k, Chevy spark 2013

available credit on credit cards: 13K

Debt:

student loan: 30k (deferment)

credit cards: 2500 (8, 5, 2 year old cards)

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Eve23

Re: First auto loan but I have low income

Hi there,

First let me tell you, I too am WAS a first auto loan requesteee till this morning. Although, me or any other people on forum do not belong to any banks or CU. Therefore, we can only share our experience and will not be able to prejudge you on your qualification. (Hence I asked the same question LOL)

To my recent loan application, I have stated that I live with my family and do not pay rent. It is not a problem. 

Your payments to your CC are important. With no lates and below 30% of debt ratio is a A++

- What is the average length of time have you had those cards? Higher the more reliable you are to them.

As for income, they look at gross. I guess its basically off of how much of the loan you are requesting for. I.E.. If you are asking for a 40K plus... it can be pretty farfetched from the provided income above. I hope you have some kind of down payment to reduce your loan amount for better chances. (again, I do not work for banks or CU)

Is that a pre-owned vehicle? (I recommend)