Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For the best deal you need to do this:

tag
jamie123
Valued Contributor

For the best deal you need to do this:

Back in 2008 I worked as a new/used car salesman for 6 months. Yes, I was a highly trained shark! I was really good at it!

If you want the best deal this is what you need to do:

Research the EXACT car make model and trim level you want to purchace. Edmunds.com is a great place to do this. Research the forums on that website. People from around the country post exactly what their deal cost them for specific make, model and trim level.

Go to your local bank or CU and get pre-approved for the amount your car will cost and find out what interest rate they will charge you. Credit unions have much better interest rates than banks, use them.

Go back to edmunds.com and build your car again. They will ask if you want quotes for this car from local dealers, say yes. Pick 2 dealers and play them against each other. From your prior reseach on edmunds you will have a very close ballpark figure you need to get them down to.

They will ask if you plan on financing this deal, say "Yes, I am already approved by XXX credit union at X.X interest rate. If you can beat their rate I will go with you though."

They may or may not be able to beat the interest rate. Dealers give the lowest prices through the INTERNET.

This method ties the dealer's hand behind their back. They can't use their army of smooth talking salesmen and misdirection to boost the price.

Most people negotiate 1 car deal a year. As a highly trained salesman, I negotiated at LEAST 3 deals a day. You don't have a chance. The dealership ALWAYS makes money.

Any questions?

Starting Score: EQ 653 6/21/12
Current Score: EQ 817 3/10/20 - EX 820 3/13/20 - TU 825 3/03/20
Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: For the best deal you need to do this:

Okay...I'm still here.

I can't believe that nobody has asked any questions yet.