Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full time medical student looking for auto loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Full time medical student looking for auto loan

Hi, I am a full time medical student who is getting federal loans to get financial support.

I have high undergrad/grad debt totalling little over $80,000 currently. (ouch)

I also carry a credit card from my credit union($3000), and 3 store credit cards (~$1000 each)

My credit score with equifax back in march was 652.

I am thinking about getting a car this coming fall/winter. (Planning to save up about $2000 for downpayment, finance a car: $10,000~12,000)

I was looking at Nissan Versa or something similar. (from hertz website...)

I was told from my credit union that I can use my student loan as a source of income when applying for the auto loan (after the tuition), which comes out to be around $28,000.

I know this is not the ideal situation(getting a loan based on another loan), but I am an independent student that is in need of a car this fall.

Would I be able to get approved for a loan from my credit union? (best option I think) or any other dealerships when I have such a high student amount? And I am not sure if using my student loan as a source of income is common for students when getting auto loan or potentially damage my credit score. Would it be better for me to just save up ~$4000 by next year and get a used car with that money? should I look up my credit score using this website instead of Equifax in the future when I look upp my score?? ( not sure about the difference?)

Also on a side note, if anyone can suggest a way to improve my score up to 660 or higher before I start shopping, I'd appreciate it. Smiley Wink

Thank you!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Full time medical student looking for auto loan

Nissan is doing 0% financing for 36 months and 1.9% for 60 months. http://www.nissanusa.com/buying/nissan-financing/current-offers.html.