Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP PLEASE!! First Time Car Buyer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP PLEASE!! First Time Car Buyer

My Experian credit score is 674. I have no previous history of an auto loan. I want to purchase a used Nissan Altima from the dealer and want to finance the remaining balance after my $3000 down payment. Are there any suggestions to where I may get a good APR considering that my credit score is just "ok" and I have no auto loan history. This recession is scaring me and I'm not sure if I want to start applying for auto loans only to be denied and then have my credit score lowered due to inquiries. By the way, I am a NYC resident (not sure is that is a factor). Thanks in advance for your help.

My monthly income is $2600 after taxes and I have been at my job for 1 year 1 month

Message Edited by cupcake8503 on 03-02-2009 08:28 AM
Message Edited by cupcake8503 on 03-03-2009 05:01 PM
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
oneilldn
Contributor

Re: HELP PLEASE!! First Time Car Buyer

Go to your local credit union, with a 674 and 3k down you'll be good to go. Do not take a loan through the dealer, they love first time buyers and not for good reasons. Get your loan with a CU and remember to always negotiate the price first of the car.

02/2009- EQ 502/TU 516/EX 499
11/2009- EQ 701/TU 709/EX 721(fako)
03/2011- EQ 719/TU 729/EX 733 (by lender)

'NEVER GIVE UP"
Message 2 of 12
moondog7324
Frequent Contributor

Just curious- how old, and how much is the altima? may I suggest research on www.edmunds.com

It's a buyer's market- rebates are at an alltime high-you may be able to get a great deal on a base (few options) new altima.

Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've actually decided to go with a new Altima, either 2008 ($18,620) or 2009 ($21,540). Prices are from Edmunds.com.

Message 4 of 12
cabarkeep
New Contributor