cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! What would you guys do?

tag
MZC386

HELP! What would you guys do?

I'm upside down on my 2009 Nissan Altima by roughly $8000. I visited a Nissan dealership and was given the following numbers for a 2013 Nissan Rogue SV: 36 month lease, $1500 down, $585.00 monthly payments and because of the negative equity, I was told thats as low as they can go. They offered $12, 000 for my Altima. Payments seem a little high to me but I'm no expert. Thanks in advance.

Starting Score: EQ 661, TU 652, EX 627
Current Score: EQ 662, TU 662, EX 627
Goal Score: 710

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
MMTT31
Established Member

Re: HELP! What would you guys do?

Just adding the payment and the down payment you're going to pay 22560 for the lease. You just have to ask yourself is it worth it?

Message 2 of 13
MZC386

I understand that aspect of the deal. Im just concerned that the monthly payments for a $21,000 car (Including Rebates) + the $8000 in negative equity are a really high.

Message 3 of 13
p-
Valued Contributor

MZC386 wrote:  I'm upside down on my 2009 Nissan Altima by roughly $8000....What would you guys do?

I'd sell it privately for what I owe so I wasn't upside down.  Then I'd use a credit union for pre-approved financing so all I had to negotiate with the dealer was price.  If I couldn't get all of the money I needed out of the private sale, I might put cash in if it was real important to change cars.   Othewise, I'd drive the Altima for a few more years and run the numbers again.

Message 4 of 13
MZC386

The amount I owe is about $8000 more than what its worth. If i could go back in time, I absolutely would`nt have gotten the 2009 Altima. Unfortunately, staying wit the vehicle is not an option :-/

Message 5 of 13
p-
Valued Contributor

MZC386 wrote:  Im just concerned that the monthly payments...are really high....