Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have they lost their minds?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Have they lost their minds?

I am a tax accountant. I just completed a tax return for a client who purchased a 2017 Dodge Ram 2500 truck. They rolled $52,000 in negative equity from a prior vehicle into the deal. They now owe $82,000 on a truck that Kelly Blue Book values at about $41,600.

Let's see who lost their minds in this deal:

1: The buyer, obviously. They are beyond upside down in this vehhicle - they are inside out also.

2: The genius of a Credit Manager who approved the deal. For his sake I hope the loan never goes bad because he might have a lot of 'splaining to do. I can just hear the first question: "Where was your brain?"

6 REPLIES 6
Miner
Frequent Contributor

Re: Have they lost their minds?

That is just insane for both sides.  To even have $52k in negative equity on a car loan, how is that even possible?  10 year loan?  And then to buy another vehicle worth less than half of the loan amount?  What sort of interest rate was demanded to get that loan approved?   I can't even fanthom the amount of interest they must be paying on the life of that loan and don't see how it could possibly be worth it.  Every time I do the math for a loan and see all the interest I'll have to throw away, my loan lengths always seem to get shorter. 

Current FICO8: EQ:782, TU:754, EX:767 | 1x 30 day late 6yrs ago
AAoA: 10 years; AAoOA: 13 months; Credit Length: 21 years
INQ Eq: 3 / Tu: 5 (4 for auto) / Ex: 9 (5 for auto)
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable