Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having trouble getting loan even with 40% down

tag
750Hopeful
New Contributor

Having trouble getting loan even with 40% down

Hey guys, first post on the boards. Have spent probably about 5 or 6 hours just reading through some of the posts on here over the last two days though. I've been working on building my credit for about the last 6 months. I've improved it from a 604 FICO TU to a 656 FICO TU. Oddly, my Experian score is 783, but that seems to be because virtually none of my history is reported with them (what's up with that!?) and doesn't seem to mean much for that reason. My goal is to get at least a 750 credit score across all 3 CBs. Right now I'm trying to get an auto loan and seem to get declined at every turn.

I'm looking for a $40K loan with $26K down (about 40%), but keep getting decline after decline. Annual income is $105K and I can prove it, but I'm self-employed -- have been for 7 years.

I've got 5 clean revolving CC accounts on my credit (all but one with small $500 or so limits), a small $1,000 24 month installment loan (credit builder account with M&I) and that's about it. No auto loans, no mortage, nothing else really. Only 1 30 day late payment out of a 108 payment history, which was on my Shell gas card 3 years ago (and Shell won't delete it -- I asked via a GW letter), an account I still have and have had for 7 years. A family member also added me a joint account holder to his Discover card about 4 months ago, which has a $15K limit, flawless payment history, and is almost a 17 year old account. I also have a $2,000 monthly rent payment that I've been making for the last 30 months (all on time and some even made early) and I pay RentReporters.com every month to report that payment history to the CBs and have been for at least 5 months and have yet to see any mention of it pop up on any of my reports. Am I just throwing money down the train with RentReporters.com?