cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I prepare my credit for leasing a car?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How can I prepare my credit for leasing a car?

Hello everyone! Just joined the forums after reading so many to expand my credit knowledge. I am fairly new to the credit world, opened my first credit card in 12/2009 and my second in 05/2011. So if anyone can assist or provide advice, it would be greatly appreciated!

Around December of 2010 I went to the dealer to ask about a lease. To start off, my current scores are 752 TU FICO, 704 EQ FICO (724 EQ SW) and 754 EX (EQ SW).

I figured those were some banging scores to qualify for a lease. No baddies, all bills paid on time, low credit usage below 10%. My income was fine to them ($2,000 gross per month with only a phone bill expense of $120.) However when they did a soft pull to see where I am, I was thrown off by my credit limits. My score the dealer pulled, it was 732 EQ. Apparently my credit limits were too low to qualify for a lease.I have only two revolving accounts (soon to be a 3rd as an AU.), so far totalling $2,300. Yes that is extremely low but I never needed to increase in the first place.