cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How is loan interest calculated? Also what is the best loan for a used car? Any car buying tips?

tag
UKTone
New Contributor

How is loan interest calculated? Also what is the best loan for a used car? Any car buying tips?

Is it the same as credit cards?

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Cards/How-do-they-calculate-interest/m-p/2330891#M656982

Is there anyway to avoid paying interest?

Could you pay more to avoid some of the interest?

I have no mechanical experience and I will have my neighbor check the car in person since he fixes his own and his wife's vehicles. I am likely to buy a used car from a private or car dealer. I want a warranty, and full coverage (I am 21, this would be my first car, I live in Detroit, so my insurance will be high). I am considering a Truck, SUV, 4 door sedan, or anything that would give me lower insurance rates and/or not as much money to have to spend on gas, but perferably in insurance rates since that will cost me the most. Geico offers me $530 for full coverage and esurance $266 for no fault, I used the 2001 Honda Civic for the quotes.

What type of loan has the least interest to pay and is most beneficial?

Do Auto loans really help your auto insurance score?

Any car buying tips, or any other information and advice you have will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Starting Score: 03/17/2013 665 EQ 01/09/2013 EX 724 TU 739?
Current Score: 03/27/2013 682 EQ 01
Goal Score: 850 all three FICO scores, 900 Vantage score, max insurance scores, etc.

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
UKTone
New Contributor

Re: How is loan interest calculated? Also what is the best loan for a used car? Any car buying tips?

Please help.

I read the first time buyer sticky, doesn't really help.

Goal Score: 850 all three FICO scores, 900 Vantage score, max insurance scores, etc.

Message 2 of 7
sccredit
Valued Contributor