cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to buy a car (for the first time buyer).

tag
SamsungHDTV
Established Contributor

How to buy a car (for the first time buyer).

Introduction (Feel free to skip)

I recently bought a car for the first time completely on my own. I want to share my experience with this forum because I hope it will help others find the best deal on a car and the best deal on the interest rate on a loan. Also because I've learned so much from myfico that I also want to contribute to it. I'm not an expert car buyer, so take this advice for what its worth. It will be mostly about buying a new car, and shopping for an auto loan. I will include a short section on buying used cars and trading in your current vehicle, although I have virtually no experience in this. This may turn out to be a lengthy read, but it will help if you just have no idea on where to start. 

*tldr = too long, didnt read (know this acronym)

How much can you afford? 

Well first step is the create your budget. If you don't have a monthly budget, a good time to create one is when you're considering the purchase of a car. Begin by making a list of all your monthly bills and their associated payments, such as utilities, credit-card payments, rent or mortgage payment and insurance. Also track how much you spend on things like food and gas for a week to determine what these items are truly costing you.

The general rule of thumb is to spend no more than 20% of your net income towards a car payment. So if you bring home $2000 after taxes multiplied by 20% is $400. So if you're budget calculations doesn't allow for 20% towards your brand new dream car, then you should reconsider buying a new car. Things you could consider are putting off the purchase of your new car until your financial situation improves, buying a cheaper car or even used.