Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get decent apr with short credit history and low income

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to get decent apr with short credit history and low income

I’m looking to become a first time car buyer. I’m currently new to credit and I only have a history of a little over a year (1year 1month). I only have 3 credit cards with total of $1100 between the 3. I’m looking to spend no more than $13,000 on a car. I’m ready to put anywhere between $3000 and $4000 down as downpayment. I’ve tried getting auto loans through capital one and even PenFed but I haven’t had any luck with either one. I have a 723 EX score and 715 EQ. I have no bad marks.
8 REPLIES 8
tooleman694
Valued Contributor

Re: How to get decent apr with short credit history and low income

Probably would have good luck at a dealer.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Try (Digital Federal Credit Union)DCU and Unify Federal CU.

They specialize in giving loans to people with low credit history. I got a 30K loan(w/ 15K down) from DCU with 8 months history and a mid 600s score. I did hava a salary of 84K at the time though.

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymouswrote:

Try (Digital Federal Credit Union)DCU and Unify Federal CU.

They specialize in giving loans to people with low credit history. I got a 30K loan(w/ 15K down) from DCU with 8 months history and a mid 600s score. I did hava a salary of 84K at the time though.

I also have heard DCU is very accomodating but in your case you put down 50% of the loan amount any lender would accept you with open arms.

Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Perhaps I should've been clearer. The total amount owed was 45K. I put 15K down and got the remaining 30K financed through DCU. If OP puts 4K down, the remaining should be easily financed. 

Message 5 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable