cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I *NEED* a car, but my credit score is 652

tag
d_e

I *NEED* a car, but my credit score is 652

I'm 24 and am in need of a car. My last one was a '96 Camry that officially died in early November. I've been using public transportation since then, which wasn't a big deal, but now that I've graduated college, going on interviews isn't working out with the time conflict between my regular job + taking time to wait for the bus (example: instead of running out for an interview, taking an hour or so, I have to schedule everything around the bus's schedule, thus taking more time/money from my paycheck). 

I'm just in a never-ending circle as far as the above goes: could get a better job with more $, but can't get a job without a car. (I'm a journalist/reporter and a car is necessary). 

Here's some background according to myfico:

Current credit score: 652

Credit history: 5 years 

Revolving accounts (credit cards): $8,912 

• Includes 3 credit cards; I got the oldest in March 2007. 

Balances 

1. $5,284 out of $5,400
  2. $1,914 out of $2,000
  3.  $1,714 out of $2,000

Installment Loans (school loans): $15,125 to start paying off in July

• $5,500
  • $5,500
  • $2,750
  • $1,375

It's a lot; I know. The one credit card with the really high balance was essentially maxed out when I decided I didn't want to take out school loans and paid a semester with my credit card (HUGE mistake, I know). When I transferred from junior college, obviously, the cost was much higher and I had to take out loans. All my schooling was paid with 'borrowed' money in my own name. I used the cards for books and things of that nature as well. 

I don't know what to do now. There are jobs in my field iwth higher pay, but scheduling interviews is a big problem with no vehicle which leads to me not wanting to schedule interviews because I'll be losing money for taking more time off from work.