cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a wait period before buying another car?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there a wait period before buying another car?

I'm pretty young and just starting out so I have very little experience aside the ones my parents give me regarding credit and auto loans in general. I plan on buying a car this April (2013 Toyota Highlander) and buying another car in November or December (preferrably a BMW). My current FICO score is 660 and I have the funds to finance for both of these vehicles. Here's the issue and where the question comes in. A buddy of mine from work told me that if I buy a car and then buy another car within months of eachother it would drastically affect my credit negatively. Is there any truth to this? Is there a "wait" period before buying another vehicle in regards to credit? Someone please enlighten me because I'm very new to this.

Thankyou

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
acleynes
New Contributor

Re: Is there a wait period before buying another car?

I bought a Lexus in October 2011, a Honda in November 2011, and closed on a house in February 12.  It is possible, but I do not recommend it.

Buying the Lexus was quick and simple.  Buying the Honda was an all day spectacle.  The closing date for my house got pushed back twice and I even got my underwriter fired.

I was able to get away with it because of my 6 figure income.

Starting Score: TU 749 02/02/2014
Current Score: TU 749 02/02/2014
Goal Score: 850

Message 2 of 13
ds3
Regular Contributor