Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Length of Employment Question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Length of Employment Question

I am going to be financing a car for the first time and I have a question about how lenders consider length of employment. I worked full time to put myself through college, graduated with my B.A. in the spring and was hired into a job in my field this summer. The one question I am nervous about in the application process is my length of employment. I have only been at my current job for about 3 months, however, was employed full time with my previous job for 3+ years. I switched jobs obviously because I got my degree, got hired in my field and am now making twice as much money. Do lenders ever take things like this into consideration, or are they simply just going to see the time at my current job and count that against me? Thanks!
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Length of Employment Question

Technically, the length of employment is not factored into your score. What most people don't realize is that it can affect your chance for approval on a loan. I've recently been denied because of length of employment. (3 months, like yourself) Typically most lenders want to see one year or more with your current employer.

Taken with a grain of salt, there are a few other factors. If your credit score is high enough, they are likely to ignore employment history. If it's (your CR) in the fair range, it's more of a gray area. It just depends on their underwriting standards. If your current length of employment is under 1 year, to 6 months, they also pay attention to job type. If it's a complete career change they will likely deny the application.