cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for a CREDIT UNION to join. Any suggestions ?

tag
pat0812
Regular Contributor

Looking for a CREDIT UNION to join. Any suggestions ?

Hello,

I'm a resident of Delaware, but i reside 3-4 months out of the year in california for vacation. I want to buy a car in about 4-5 months, that will stay in California all year long and i was told CU have the best rates.

Now my question is like that. Should i join a CU in my resident state or in the state i want to buy the car? Does it make any difference ?

I can join easily some CU in Delaware because i meet the requirements to join, but i haven't found yet any CU in California were i meet the requirements, because obviously i don't live there or am part of any organisation they request. 

Does anybody know a CU in California that I could join without being a californian resident? Or any CU that is nationwide ?

Any help would be great

Thanks

FICO 8's EX 770 EQ 751 TU 771 (1/16/17)
Amex Gold Premier rewards ( Charge Card)
Amex Blue cash - $47,800 Wells Fargo - $15,000 Citibank Simplicity - $13,800 Barclays Apple - $13,000 Walmart Mastercard - $8000 Chase Slate - $7,200 Discover It - $5,500 Capital One - $5,250
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Looking for a CREDIT UNION to join. Any suggestions ?

It does not matter. Once you are a member of a CU (in most cases) you can utilize their services from any location in the future. But, def. check with the CU before joining.

Message 2 of 5
tylaw13
Regular Contributor

@pat0812 wrote:

Hello,

I'm a resident of Delaware, but i reside 3-4 months out of the year in california for vacation. I want to buy a car in about 4-5 months, that will stay in California all year long and i was told CU have the best rates.

Now my question is like that. Should i join a CU in my resident state or in the state i want to buy the car? Does it make any difference ?