Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Meh...Looking for some insight here.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Meh...Looking for some insight here.

Hello, all.

I have been a long time lurker and reader of these forums and have been "gardening" my meager credit score for about 2 years now and I am looking for a little feedback for this increasingly frustraing situation...

I recently have come to need a new automobile. I am a firm believer in "Drive it till the wheels fall off" but that day is fastly approaching, No other way around it.

I have been driving the same truck since 1999 and my wife has been driving the same car since she was 16 (She is 25 now). Both vehicles were gifts, mine for graduation, hers for a 16th birthday. Both vehicles are fastly becoming money pits and are becoming increasingly unreliable, making something as simple as day to day transport a potentially stressful situation at any given time.

I have 3 CC's. 2 with a zero balance and one card with a 55% utilization (though it is rapidly coming down).

Current credit scores as of yesterday are EQ: 727, TU: 726, EXP: 736. 38% utilization (Again, rapidly coming down). Oldest card is 5 years old, newest card less than a year old bringing my overall average age of accounts to 2 years. No late payments. No negative items to speak of. None.

Never had a need for an auto loan in the past, don't have a mortgage as I live in a rental home owned by a family member that I am set to inherit free and clear upon their passing. (Make 40,000 + a year, been at the same job 11 years. Same address 4 years. Not that any of things were even inquired about when aplying)

At a glance, that should seem pretty decent but apparently it isn't.