Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to auto loan, HELP!

tag
jchu2013
Valued Member

New to auto loan, HELP!

This going to be my first auto loan and i'm pretty new to credit, been using cash for yearsss. The following is my case :

- Credit Score : NONE :smileyhappy:

- BOA secured card approved and on its way, 4000 limit

- US bank secured card approved and on its way - 4000 limit

- 4 Inquiries : Beside the 2 above, one denial from Cap one and one denial from Amazon store credit. All 4 of them are in Dec 2012. Already sent in the letter to dispute the 2 inquiries. 

- 0 BAD

I plan to buy a car around 35K and I will put 5K-10K as downpayment.

My questions are :

1. Should I apply for auto loan now so I can use this auto loan as a part for my credit building.

2. Which lender should i go to if I apply now? I'm non-military.

3. My bank offered me 2k secured personal installment loan, should I take this? Is this going to help with my auto loan? I worry if the auto lender see I have open debt to pay, the chance of decline is higher.

4. If I have to wait for 6 months, should I join credit union now and establish relationship with them for my future auto loan? This is each CU will HP me twice. Or, I should join the CU after 6 months and apply for auto loan right away? this way I can save some HP.

5. The CU I have in mind and eligible are Alliant, DCU and Penfed. Can I join all of them or just choose one to join to save HP. Which of them is easy on auto loan?

Thanks!

My current situation :
Credit Score : NONE.
BOA secured card (4000), US bank secured card (4000)
4 Inquiries in Dec 2012
0 BAD

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: New to auto loan, HELP!

If you can wait the six months (i.e. you don't need a car right now) I think you'll be in a better position.