cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to the USA. Want to get a car loan in 4-6 months. Tips and suggestions welcome...

tag
zurichfaust
New Visitor

New to the USA. Want to get a car loan in 4-6 months. Tips and suggestions welcome...

I came to the US in May 2012. I have been working since December 2012, pretty much as soon as my Green Card was received and I have obtained the following credit:

Capital One Secured (Jan 13) - $200

Discover IT card (March 13) - $750

Capital One Newcomers (July 2013) - $500

JC Penney (July 2013) - $100

Amazon (July 2013) - $1200

Walmart (July 2013) - $600

My wife and I want to be able to buy a new car shortly. Are we on the right track with credit? Is there anything else I should be doing to make sure that we can qualify for a car loan in the next 4-6 months? I was told that it is good to have different lines of credit and show that you're responsible with it. We always pay our balances in full each month and never carry anything over to the next month.

My wife doesn't have any credit as she's not working (stays at home with our daughter), but she is an authorized user on all of my cards.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: New to the USA. Want to get a car loan in 4-6 months. Tips and suggestions welcome...

Moving to auto loans
March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 4
SamsungHDTV
Established Contributor

Re: New to the USA. Want to get a car loan in 4-6 months. Tips and suggestions welcome...

@zurichfaust wrote:

I came to the US in May 2012. I have been working since December 2012, pretty much as soon as my Green Card was received and I have obtained the following credit:

Capital One Secured (Jan 13) - $200

Discover IT card (March 13) - $750

Capital One Newcomers (July 2013) - $500

JC Penney (July 2013) - $100

Amazon (July 2013) - $1200

Walmart (July 2013) - $600