Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Auto Loan Question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie Auto Loan Question

Hey there, I'm thinking of applying for an auto loan but I've never done it before myself so I have a few questions. First of all, I've got good credit - 776 from credit karma - I know its not one of the official big 3 companies but does it give a pretty accurate score? I make 40k/year, and I've got no negatives on my credit report, I've never missed any credit card payments or even been late. I have about 30k in credit on my cards and I'm using about 3k (which I could pay off with my savings if this is an issue). I'm looking to get a loan for about $24,000 for the purchase of a new car.

The only problem I have, and it really is more of a bonus than a problem (monetarily speaking), is my residency situation. My parents have been very ill for the past few years (over 3 years) so I've been living with them and trying to help them out. The good part is that I don't have to pay rent, though I do obviously chip money in to help out. But I'm worried that this will look bad on a loan application (what do I put down for rent on the application since the money I chip in isn't really accounted for...), and how do I show proof of residency since none of the bills are in my name?

So my two questions for the experts in here are - how hard is it going to be for me to get a loan and what rates am I looking at, and two, what do I need to prove residency?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Newbie Auto Loan Question

The credit karma score is meaningless. It has no relationship to any credit score that lenders use to qualify you for any type of loan. 

The residency issue:  you shouldn't have to prove where you live other than showing your drivers license and having the correct address report on your credit report.