cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PenFed's opinion on HQ's and what they look for?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PenFed's opinion on HQ's and what they look for?

I'm planning on trying to get an auto loan through PenFed in January, I'm thinking it will be around $30-35k if I can get approved for that. My income is $60,000 + I can have my fiance cosign if need be and her income is currently $40k, however by January we are thinking she should have a raise to $45-50k. I'm a renter and my rent is $607/mo

My Equifax score, at my current rate of building, should be between 725-735 by January and I've *heard* that PenFed only pulls Equifax. Can anyone vouch for this?

In January I will have 6 HQ's on my Equifax report (I have one dropping off in a month and not planning to have anymore in the meantime). I have 4 credit cards with a total limit around $38k and I'm 26 years old. By January I will have had my current job for 6 months (I'm a software developer).

What does PenFed look for when giving Auto Loans? Do they also take into consideration the type of vehicle being purchased at all? What things can I do to help make sure I get approved for an auto loan for the amounts that I'm wanting?

I'm trying to make sure that when I apply I have the best chances of getting approved that I can get. Any advice is appreciated.

Also does anyone know of any other places besides PenFed who approve auto loans for vehicles > 7 years old? Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
sccredit
Valued Contributor

Re: PenFed's opinion on HQ's and what they look for?

I had a similar score and many more inquiries when I applied and obtained an auto loan from them

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

And just to clarify -

Are you saying HQ as in a 'Hard Query' meaning a Hard Credit Inquiry?

We usually refer to them as HP for Hard Pull and SP for soft pull.

I'm thinking different terminology for the same thing.