Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planning to finance new car, good rate?

tag
DaveSignal
Valued Contributor

Planning to finance new car, good rate?

My GTI is old and breaks all the time. VW parts are expensive. Although I have been driving used cars for about 17 years now, I have decided to finance my first new car.

Specifically, I want another hot-hatch.  It needs to be small, easy to park in the city, and really fun to drive.  So I have nearly settled on a 2014 Ford Fiesta ST.  I belong to about 6 credit unions and so it is possible that I could get a better rate, but the dealer (AAFES) pulled a 707 TU score (this is lower than the last update I received from Barclays) and told me that I qualified for 2.99%.  I could have got 1.99% if my score was 13 points higher.  Nevertheless, this seems like a good rate to me.  I am thinking about just taking the offered rate and not even bother having 6 credit unions HP my reports for other offers.  But I did notice a 0% offer on Ford's website for financing.  I assume that this only applies to the best possible credit scores?  So, I guess I am asking if the car buyers here think it would be worth it for me to continue rate shopping or should I save the inqs and take the pretty decent rate that I was offered the first time?

EX:694 TU:744 EQ:777
Amex ED $19.5k - BoA Travel Rewards $15k - CSP $5k - SDFCU EMV $15k - NFCU goRewards $20k - Barclays Arrival $6.5k
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Luscher
Valued Contributor

Re: Planning to finance new car, good rate?

Are you dead set on the fiesta? I know some other makers offer better terms. Ive seen people below 700 but still in tier 1 for toyota get 0% interest rates
CHASE FREEDOM | AMEX BCE | | BOFA REWARDS | CITI TYP | Quicksilver | DISCOVER IT | Sallie Mae | CHASE CSP
--------$32,000-------------$30,000-----------$30,000-----------$30,000-----$13,000---------$18,200----------$15,000---------$6,500----

FICO - TU: 780 EX: 784 EQ: 781
Message 2 of 11