cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refinancing Auto loan or take personal loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Refinancing Auto loan or take personal loan?

Hi,

I'm still pretty new to the whole system and could use some advise. So I have a small car loan (<$4000) with insanely high APR (25%) because when I got it I had zero credit history. Of course I would love to bring the APR down and I've been consdering to refinance the car. Alternatively, I considered to take out a personal loan because I have some other costs coming up.

I'm not sure if I will even get a refining car loan, because of the low loan value (<$5000) and the high mileage of the car (>130k). 

On the other hand, I'm not compeltely sure if the personal loan would be a much better deal. I've asked my bank person (ASB) and of course he couldn't tell me the APR without a hard pull, but they do offer personal loans for 48  months.

About two or three weeks ago I got a letter for a preapproved Fast Cash Loan from ASB, but the APR was really high (19%). I was hoping that when I take out a personal loan I could get between 10 and 15... now I'm really reluctant to even try the personal loan because I want to avoid the hard pull on my record.

According to creditkarma, I'm slightly obver 700 (TU) and in the 690s (Equifax)

I would really prefer to take a personal loan for several reasons (the car would be ours and we could use the additional money), but not for a 19% APR.

Any advise on what to do is really appreciated Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Refinancing Auto loan or take personal loan?