cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Self-Employed Auto Loan Advice? Who to Choose?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Self-Employed Auto Loan Advice? Who to Choose?

Hi there,

I'm planning to purchase a car in the 20-26k range soon, and will have a trade-in worth $6000, and could throw in a 2-3k deposit on top of that.  (so I guess the actual loan would be closer to 17-20k)

I currently have no HP's on my credit, and am trying to minimilize how many could be added as a result of a car loan.  I also plan to get a new credit card soon (looking at Amex).

My scores are currently the 720-730 range, but should be closer to 740 by the end of this month or so.  No baddies, excellent payment history - but short AAoA because of old accounts falling off.  (2-3 yr average) 

Question 1:  I am a freelance contractor, and am trying to figure out who I should use for financing.  I am pre-qualified with Capital One, but I'm worried that they'll give me three HP's across all bureaus and I'm not sure what they'd require as POI.  (I could provide 1099s, bank statements and a letter from the company I am contracted through.)  Are there any financers that aren't very strict with POI?

Question 2:  Should I apply for the Amex before applying for a car loan, or vice versa?  I'd like to use the Amex for holiday purchases.

Question 3:  Another alternative is to wait a few more months since my scores might be closer to 790+ (quickly paying down debt!), but there might be less car incentives if I wait until after the new year.  Would 50 points make much of a difference?

Thanks so much!  Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Sandman771
Valued Contributor

Re: Self-Employed Auto Loan Advice? Who to Choose?