Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shopping for best auto loan rate

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Shopping for best auto loan rate

Hello all, newbie here.  I am in the market for a used car.  I know I will qualify for the loan, but wonder where is the best place(s) are to apply.  My scores are as follows : 802 Eq, 778(?) Ex, 804 Tu.  I stopped by my CU and their rate was 6.75% for 5yr, and 5.75% 4 yr.  I had heard of sites like Lending Tree, let you apply at several institutions at once.  I have also read on this site that Capitol One seems to be a popular auto lender as well.  The dealer was offering 3.99%, but the car he was selling was not up to the "Certified Pre-Owned" level in my mind.  One too many issues.  Can anybody make a suggestion on where I should look? 

TIA

Poirot

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Shopping for best auto loan rate

The big question is: what are your expectations?

Most conventional banks will have a 5 year rate for a used car of 5.0% plus.

there may be some lower Promo rates out there, but I am not going to get involved with that.

A 3.9-4.9 rate at a conventional bank/credit union for a used car at 5 years is an exception.

Since there is no used car factory, you are limited by what a dealership has access too when looking for a used car.

You can yourself easily go to many banks websites and see what their current "best" rates are and apply if interested.

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable