Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I Refinance Now or Wait?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I Refinance Now or Wait?

Hi everyone.  Newbie here with my first post.  I'm kinda lost here, so would love to hear your thoughts.

I'm working on improving my credit.  I'd like to refinance the current loan I have with GM financial.  I bought a 2013 Chevy Equinox in February of this year.  My payment is $359/month for 72 months at 11.35%.

My initial thought was to wait a year and try refinancing then.  The thought was that my credit would be better at that point.

This week, I applied for & was approved for some credit cards, thinking they would help my scores increase over time.  I got the GM buypower ($300), citi double cash ($1000) & DCU ($1000).  

I started looking into DCU after reading about them on the boards.  I spoke with someone in the loan department who told me with my score of 630 (EQ fico 5), if I was approved, I'd get 5.99%.  They would also use the hard pull from earlier this week.

Any thoughts on if I should apply for this now or wait a bit for my 3 new cards to start reporting.  Credit wise, I've always had to take whatever loan was offered & I feel unsure about what to do, now that I'm starting to have options.  Would appreciate everyones opinions.  Thanks!

14 REPLIES 14
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Should I Refinance Now or Wait?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi everyone.  Newbie here with my first post.  I'm kinda lost here, so would love to hear your thoughts.

I'm working on improving my credit.  I'd like to refinance the current loan I have with GM financial.  I bought a 2013 Chevy Equinox in February of this year.  My payment is $359/month for 72 months at 11.35%.

My initial thought was to wait a year and try refinancing then.  The thought was that my credit would be better at that point.