cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I take out student loans to pay off my auto loan???

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I take out student loans to pay off my auto loan???

Reflect, I nearly flipped when I saw this question on here. I am contemplating doing the very same thing. Although, I am actually taking it a step further and paying off much higher interest credit cards, which will ultimately raise my credit score. Then after I do that, my credit score should be in the nearly perfect zone for refinancing my car loan for which I hope to bring down my interest rate from 10.25% to hopefully 6-8%, if I am lucky. I know the credit crunch is still stinging people trying to finance or refinance. If there is one thing I have learned from school, especially from all the finance classes I took recently, break everything down to terms, figure out and know your plan of attack, and the put it into action. I have been doing that for the past 2 years now and it has helped tremendously (not to mention the lawyer I got to help take care of some identity theft issues). I found out from the school I attend that you can do whatever you want with the extra funds from your student loans, as long as you do not invest it in the market. There is some kind of clause that states that you cannot take government money to invest it, or something of that nature. Honestly, I am not even thinking about investing right now, until I pay off all my outstanding credit accounts, anyway. When I finish school, I should have everything paid off except my car loan, but even that will be drastically widdled down to barely anything. The student loans can then be assessed on a income basis and probably be around that of a car payment itself.
Message 21 of 29
laz98
Senior Contributor

wow, this thread really got some people going!  Smiley Very Happy