Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student looking for advice on future auto loan

tag
pachem

Student looking for advice on future auto loan

Hi guys,

I'm brand new here, but was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to become a decent applicant for an auto loan in the future. 
Basically, I'm a college student, 21 years old, and my income is a little wonky. I'm currently making around $800/month from 2 on campus jobs, and then I'm also an RA. In regards to being an RA, I don't get paid a salary or anything, but am instead compensated with free housing and a meal plan, both of which are valued at around $11,000 combined. When it comes down to it, I don't pay rent or utilities, and I really don't have to pay for food. I guess my problem is that there's no real documentation of my RA compensation. Instead of getting a fee waiver for the free housing and meal plan, I'm instead just not billed by my school for those. 

The real reason I'm looking into auto loans is because I was given a car by my mom just over a year ago when she upgraded, and my poor little VW Bug has become something of a money pit. It wasn't really maintained like it should have been, and I've already been forced to spend a few thousand to get it repaired...and it's time for my car to go back into the shop. I guess I'm at the point where I need to decide how much more money I can throw at my car before it's just too much. 

Credit Score: 733 from Transunion
2 Credit cards (Discover and Capital One) with a combined limit of $2,000, utilization of around 3%
AAoA: 1.5 yrs, with the oldest being at 2.5 years
No derogatory marks

Down payment amount: Currently have $2,000 saved specifically for a downpayment, and I figure I can put away between $300 and $500 a month from here on out
Co-signer: If at all possible, I'd prefer to avoid this. While I'm entirely comfortable with my ability to make payments, I'd rather not to put family members in an awkward position