Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thin credit history and auto loans

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thin credit history and auto loans

Hi all. I am new to the Fico forums. Seems like a great place to accrue knowledge in all forms of credit So Im glad to be apart of it Smiley Happy

Ok on to my question. Well a few questions.

Im trying to get an auto loan. Pretty new to credit with only about 7 months of history (just generated a score a month ago EQ 572) and 2 lines of credit which are credit cards. I applied for a Chase auto loan a few days ago which they denied stating I needed a minimum of two years credit history and two open lines of credit. So my question is, with my meager 7 months of credit, is it even possible to acquire an auto loan without some huge amount of credit history? If not, what amount IS the right amount? And if I can, anyone have any suggestions on potential lenders that cater to thin credit ? (minus BHPH lots ;P)

My car is dying pretty quickly so Im running out of options and I don't have the cash to just buy a car outright. I only make 24K a year so my job shouldn't be a problem if I aim for a cheap car.

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
guydiver
Established Contributor

Re: Thin credit history and auto loans

Going out on a limb here, but I think you need to establish one solid year of credit history, save up a good down payment(the more the better), and keep your credit card balances very low between 1-9% of your total credit limits.  Try not to apply for any new credit, that will only decrease your average age of accounts and hurt your Fico score.  I would try Capital1 blank check first to see where you stand.  If you get approved, you can try to get the dealer to beat the rate they qualified you for.  You should also look into becoming a member of a credit union.  They may be able to help you after you establish yourself a little more.

Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable