cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Toyota Financial auto loan refinance or options?

tag
newhorizon
Established Member

Toyota Financial auto loan refinance or options?

Hello,

So my story is...

Back in 2009, My wife and I had a Town and country that kept on breaking down. We owed close to $9000 on it and decided to go with a "newer" car. We went back to the Toyota dealer to find out what could be done.  Back then we had no idea on APR rates and so forth. They ran my credit and it was really bad, judgment, liens etc.. They ran my wife's credit and was able to obtain a loan with Toyota finanical. They offered her an APR of 24% on a 2004 Sienna and $5000 down. We were desperate so decided to take it. I have been paying $580 a month since December 2009. We still have 20 months left on the loan. Now the car has been acting up and I have been spending more money fixing it. Seems like I fix something, something else breaks.

I have been working on my credit and have been able to clear it up for the most part (still have 3 paid state tax liens). No lates and a history of 6 months. Credit karma has a score of 679. 3 months ago, I was able to secure a loan at my local credit union at 6.9% for our second car (We needed it as I switched jobs and have to travel farther). We recently went to the dealer where we purchased the second car to try to trade in the toyota but they only wanted to give us $1500 for it.. Ouchhhhhh....

We keep making payments on theToyota and are current. I guess my question is has anyone had a similar situation? I have asked about refinancing but it seems that because it's a 2004 with 90,000 miles nobody will refinance. The dealer suggested that my wife does a volutantary repo. We really dont want her credit to mess up so we decided not to. I will continue to pay it until I find a better solution.

I hope what I wrote makes sense....

Any advice would great.

Thanks!!!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
HoldingOntoHope