Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to figure some things out....

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to figure some things out....

Hello

A newbie here trying to figure out some things.

I am looking to buy a new car around October 2012. I am in the process of cleaning up and improving my credit scores (the average between the 3 is around 615). My current debt is 2 small cc and my car payment to drivetime. I also have a deferred student loan. All of the "bad" accounts (repo and bankruptcy discharged in 2004) are either paid or old and still showing on my reports.

I am looking to borrow about $20,000 for a car and will have a down payment of $5000. I am worried about the debt to income ratio and if my student loan balance will be a factor. I currently make $49k/yr and know that I can afford a $500/mo payment. But if a payment for student loans is factored in my DTI ma be over 50%. Considering my scores are still low I don't know if I would get favorable financing. I hope this all makes sense and appreciate any responses.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
xiownthisplacex
Frequent Contributor

Re: Trying to figure some things out....

Depending in what state you live in, you can expect an APR anywhere from 10.29% to 16.78%.

With $5,000, you should be fine to get a new vehicle with an MSRP of $22,000. But in my opinion, you should get something that is less, because of the high APR that you will get and trade it in a couple of years. As long as you pay on time and keep everything else in good standing, you should qualify for a much lower APR then.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks. I live in TX and the rate can be as high as 18%. My rate with Drivetime was 15% so I am hoping the new rate will be much lower.

Message 3 of 8
pizzadude
Credit Mentor