cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UPDATE: Never had a car loan before -- can I get approved?

tag
Drklon

UPDATE: Never had a car loan before -- can I get approved?

Update: We were anxious about nothing.  We were approved no problem (auto enhanced scores were 709/wife and 683/me).  No money down, 3.3ish APR, and we got to take advantage of a fantastic dealer incentive to keep the principle balance low.  Feels awesome to have a new car, and eases a bunch of worries we had about our other car.

My FICO is not great...I just paid down some credit cards and the score estimator estimates that I'll be around 700.  My wife is in the same area.

I am a graduate student with a job offer in hand.  My wife and I will be making about 80k a year starting this summer.  We're currently making about 35k working part time, but the income is pretty sporadic (I made about 15k last summer and she makes about 2k a month).  

Our car has started to die, and we are in need of a new (at least to us) one.  I'm going to need a commuter car, so we're looking at a new Ford Fiesta, Honda Fit, or Chevy Sonic.

Our only credit issues are 3 years old or more; I have a 90 day late on an installment account.  My wife had a car loan when we were married, but it has since aged off of her reports.  She has some 2 random $25 medical collections that showed up when we pulled her reports; she disputed them but they still remain.  They are slated to fall off in early 2014.  We also have a 2008 collection that we were on jointly.

Beyond that, we have relatively low monthly expenses.  My concerns: 1) our current car is essentially valueless, so we aren't going to have much of a down payment. (we could probably spare 1500 from our savings if needed, but we'd rather not and 2) the only installment account showing up on either of our credit reports has a 90 day late payment.  It is paid in full and was 3 years ago.