cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uh oh!! Guess I'm gonna have to app for a new car today!!!

tag
electra
Established Contributor

Uh oh!! Guess I'm gonna have to app for a new car today!!!

Dropped my son at school and shortly thereafter my minivan engine started cutting out and driving jerkily...barely moving.  Engine light came on.  I was totally freaked bc I was in my fuzzy pink bathrobe and didn't want to get stranded...OMG!!  So, I floored it, there was a snap and the engine kicked back in but the check engine light stayed on.  Barely made it home...whew!!!

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
HoldingOntoHope
Valued Contributor

Re: Uh oh!! Guess I'm gonna have to app for a new car today!!!

Well at least change into your soccer mom clothes before you hit the dealerships!Smiley Very Happy Seriously, unless you have been considering a new car already then an intermittent problem with your current vehicle is no reason to panic. I am not a mechanic in the least (that's what I have credit cards for) but running it by a shop they can get the codes that will tell them what's the matter. From there you can make a more informed decision.

But if your post was in jest or your ready to just dump the minivan and get a sports car then "You go girl!!!"

Best financial advice I ever got: "Just imagine what an adult would do and do that."

Starting Score: 500's
Current Score: EQ 701 (FICO) TU 721 (FICO) EX 715 (Quizzle)
Goal Score: 760 ALL

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Message 2 of 17
Dustink
Valued Contributor

+1

Fix it. Usually bad to trade in a broken car, unless it is old and worthless already. You will get more without a check engine light.

Too many INQs & low AAoA so I'm off to tend the Garden.     Age:23    

$17k       $8.5K          Closed          $19k      $6.5k        $24.2k        Closed         $5k       Closed     $8.5k        Closed      @2.49%
Message 3 of 17
carlismycat
New Contributor