Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is considered a GOOD down payment?

tag
whaddupmia07
Established Member

What is considered a GOOD down payment?

Hello Everyone!

I am looking to buy a new car within the next few months. The price of the auto loan will be between 23-26K, I think. I am completely new to buying a new vehicle so I was wondering what a good down payment on a 26K car is. I am planning on selling my current car for around 3K and using another 1K from personal finances for the down payment. So total would be 4K down. My current score (according to Credit Karma, I haven't pulled Fico yet) is 721 and annual income is 45K. If anyone could answer this for me that would be appreciated. Thanks!!

Current Scores: EQ 662 TU 671 EX 669
Goal: 700 across the board
34 REPLIES 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What is considered a GOOD down payment?

Anything is a good down payment. The purposes of a down-payment is to help keep you from being upside down on a loan and keep your monthly payments lower. Supposedly a good rule of thumb is 20% but in actuality that means nothing. Some lenders may require a certain down payment to keep the loan to value ratio under control. My new FRS. I just purchased I could have put 0 down and finance about 22000 instead I put down around 2000 and financed 20000 to keep my monthly payment at 330. Different lenders have different req. Get an approval before you go to any dealer. The approval amount should be fine as I make the same and was approved for 33k. I used dcu and I recommend you looking into them. Find your fico scores, if your equifax Fico 5 is above 675 I very very very much so recommend dcu.
Message 2 of 35
Anonymous
Not applicable