Did you mean: 

When should i apply for an auto loan ?

tag
pat0812
Regular Contributor

When should i apply for an auto loan ?

Hello,

I'm a new resident of the US. I just started to build credit about 4 months ago

I have been using wells fargo secured credit card with a $300 CL since May, and my UTI never goes more than 9% and i always PIF

I recently got approved for Walmart store card ($400) and Capital one platinum ($500), doing the same UTI as my first card.

I have no negative items on my report, always on time payments. I have 4 inquiries, that's about it.

I really would like to buy a car after Christmas. Should I wait ? When should I be able to get a good rate ?

Can i buy a car in a different state than my residense ? (i Live in Delaware, but i spend 3-4 months a year in California)

I want to buy a car for California, should i take a loan from a bank or credit union in Delaware or in California? Does it matter ?

FICO 8's EX 770 EQ 751 TU 771 (1/16/17)
Amex Gold Premier rewards ( Charge Card)
Amex Blue cash - $47,800 Wells Fargo - $15,000 Citibank Simplicity - $13,800 Barclays Apple - $13,000 Walmart Mastercard - $8000 Chase Slate - $7,200 Discover It - $5,500 Capital One - $5,250
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: When should i apply for an auto loan ?

@pat0812 wrote:

Hello,

I'm a new resident of the US. I just started to build credit about 4 months ago

I have been using wells fargo secured credit card with a $300 CL since May, and my UTI never goes more than 9% and i always PIF

I recently got approved for Walmart store card ($400) and Capital one platinum ($500), doing the same UTI as my first card.

I have no negative items on my report, always on time payments. I have 4 inquiries, that's about it.

I really would like to buy a car after Christmas. Should I wait ? When should I be able to get a good rate ?