Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will be getting a car in six months, and new to credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will be getting a car in six months, and new to credit

Hi, I will be getting a car in six months, but I am new to credit and would like to know what step(s) to take to get the lowest interest rate possible. After making the decision to get a car, instead of going the more frugal route and getting a motorcycle, I discovered this forum. After reading up, I got my first credit card, a secured capital one card, in late April and my utilization is 4%. As of this month, I have a 687 TU Fico. I can't get an EQ score because I don't yet have enough credit history. (The only reason I have a TU score is bc my energy company reports to that bureau only.) In order to get the best score possible, I was wondering if I should get a second secured card. The simulator says that could actually hurt my score due to the inquiry, but on these forums I have read that two or three TL is ideal. So.. I'm not sure which to do. I was also thinking about increasing my limit, but because I'm saving up for the down payment I won't be able to add much and that may have little to no effect on my score. Any advice or suggestions?
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Will be getting a car in six months, and new to credit

I think in your situation I'd do the following:

- Go open up another card ASAP, like right now or tomorrow morning.  It should be a positive within six months in your case as a near thin-file.

- Get whatever auto loan I could in six months, the interest rate may not be ideal, but suck it up for six months of payments even if it's sub-optimal.